this week was wonderful–on friday we had a life changing conference/training from a member of the area presidency, president bennett. it was the refuel, re motivation, re commitment we all needed and something that I connected was that if perfect love casteth out all fear (moroni 8) then to act with charity means to act with fearlessness. this was a novel idea/personal revelation for me and has changed my perspective about missionary work and about life. 
it was funny because during the conference he had us go outside and put into practice the things we had learned and we met a lot of really nice people and had some great experiences but then we met this one lady and I asked how her day was going and she said, “I know you. I know what you want. I know what you’re doing. and it’s a sin. and you will be judged for this sin. it’s blood on your hands and a sin on your head. and more so, on your children and on your posterity!!!!!!” and I just smiled and said, “I’m sorry you feel that way. have a great day!” and she said, “don’t smile! don’t smile at me!” and i really wasn’t trying to mock her or make her mad, I just wish I could have explained to her that that is an impossible request. I love to smile, smiling’s my favorite. 
Sister Parry didn’t understand any of this and I just laughed and realized, “maybe I am picking up on this russian thing, because i definitely understood every word.” But that poor lady’s day was ruined because I smiled at her and my day was not influenced by her in the least and that’s the amazing thing about knowing that you’re doing the right thing. and we’ve seen so much progress with Hope and with Natasha! they’re so amazing and it’s so exciting. also I’ve had the chance to get to know more of the members and my goodness I am just blown away. last night we had a lesson with a member named Alla who is beautiful and talented and wise and interesting and easy to talk to and passionate and kind and loves life and is humble and I thought about how incredible it is that we can just sit and chat and ramble our heads off in Russian and learn so much from each other and feel the Spirit and it was just wonderful. 
and speaking of wonderful, today is elder lyon’s birthday (in our district) and so we went to a butterfly exhibit where we went in this room with all these butterflies and i am OBSESSED!! \it was the best. and when i grow up I will also have a hundred pet butterflies. they love me. actually the feeling’s mutual.
anyways, not too much new to report this week but we have some exciting plans for this week so i will update you next monday.

Also, happy birthday to my sister jessica!! how i love you so! and im so grateful you are my sister. you’re the best sister, daughter, wife, and mother i know and i want to be you when i grow up. ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

